Skip to main content


Showing posts with the label The Large Association of Movie Bloggers

Oscars 2017: Makeup and Hairstyling

I'm back writing for The Lamb Devours The Oscars , this time I'm looking at the category for Makeup and Hairstyling. In 1981 the Academy received complaints that the work of makeup artists on The Elephant Man wouldn't be recognised. In response, they created The Academy Award for Best Makeup. Before this, their work was only recognised through special achievement awards. In 1993 the award was adjusted to include hairstylists whose work contributed "greatly to the appearance and effect of the characters". There are usually only three nominations for this award. Previous winners include: Dallas Buyers Club (2013) - Adruitha Lee and Robin Matthews The Iron Lady (2011) - Mark Coulier and J. Roy Helland Star Trek (2009) - Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow La Vie en Rose (2007) - Didier Lavergne and Jan Archibald How The Grinch Stole Christmas (2000) - Rick Baker and Gail Ryan Men In Black (1997) - Rick Baker and David Leroy Anderson Mrs Doubt

Oscars 2017: Sound Mixing

As part of The Lamb Devours the Oscars I'm looking at the Sound Mixing category. The sound mixers go to work after the all of the movie's sounds have been edited together. It's their job to decide the levels of all the sounds, so whether you hear the score over the top of everything else or quietly in the background.  Understandably, it's common for war movies and musicals to get nominated. The award is usually given to the Sound Mixers themselves.   Erik Aadahl - Sound Editing nominee for Argo in 2013 - described the roles of Sound Editor and Sound Mixer in an interview with Deadline: "One way of thinking about it is kind of like an orchestra, where you'll have the composer composing the symphony and then a conductor saying, 'More flutes here,' and that's very much like what mixing is - it's like conducting."   Previous winners include: Mad Max: Fury Road (2015) - Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudolph and Ben Osmo Les Miserables (2012)